Mitosis Types

Mitosis Types

Mitosis Types

Mitosis is the type of cell division, in Mitosis types which cell divides into two daughter cells and both have equal amount of chromosomes as in parents. In this way equal number of chromosomes transfers from generation to generation.
There are four major types of mitosis

  • Prophase
  • Metaphase
  • Anaphase
  • Telophase


So this phase, two pairs of centrioles moves to opposite poles and spindle fibers arise from it. Nucleolus disappears and nuclear envelope breaks down. Finally The chromatin condenses into chromosomes and they become visible.


In this phase, chromosomes are arranged in the center and form the equatorial plate, which also called metaphase plate.


This is the shortest phase. The sister chromatids moves to the opposite poles. The spindle fibers shortening as a result pull chromatids towards opposite pole and they going to separate.


In this phase, the completion of chromosomes moves to opposite poles done.


The division of cytoplasm is called Cytokinesis.
In animal cells, cleavage occurs and two daughter cells are formed while in plant cells, by the formation of phragmoplast cell divided into two daughter cells.

Facebook Comments

This post has already been read 1471 times!